climate & geology

The city of Krems is nestled in a basin at an altitude of 220 meters above sea level. To the east, the valley opens up and lets the warm air masses stream in from the Pannonian region. To the north, the city borders on the highlands of the "Waldviertel", a pleasantly wooded area, where there is an abrupt drop in the average yearly temperature of at least 5° C.

The clash of the Western Baltic oceanic climate with that of East Pannonia leads to an exciting interplay and strong climatic variations between day and night, and all that in a narrow space, but the mighty Danube helps to balance them out.

Naturally, the vegetation is affected by such sharp variations in temperature and this proves to be very beneficial for winegrowing: it is precisely such conflicting climatic influences that give the wines their fruity taste and bouquet.

The Krems Valley is only a small winegrowing area, but there are two different here.

  • The rolling highlands and the eastward falling slopes of the "Bohemian Massif" are some of the oldest formations in the world. In the Krems area, it is made up of various types of gneiss, whose weather-beaten forms make up the original Urgestein (primary rock) of the terraced vineyards to the west of the city. This is excellent soil for growing Riesling.

  • But the loess soil is of particular importance for viticulture in Krems. The loess was formed in the most recent Ice Age some 300,000 years ago. It is mainly found on the southern and southeastern slopes of the Krems vineyards. It provides optimal conditions for growing the famed Grüner Veltliner of Krems with a lot of spice and fine structure.

Klima & Geologie

Die Stadt Krems liegt in einem Becken auf einer Seehöhe von ca. 220 Meter. Nach Osten hin öffnet sich das Tal und läßt von hier die warmen Luftmassen aus dem pannonischen Raum einströmen. Die Stadt grenzt im Norden unmittelbar an die Waldviertler Hochebene, wo die Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur abrupt um mindestens 5° Celsius niedriger liegt.

Das Aufeinandertreffen des westlich baltisch-ozeanischen Kilmas mit dem östlich-pannonischen führt zu einem spannenden Wechselspiel und starken klimatischen Unterschieden zwischen Tag und Nacht sowie auf engem Raum, wobei der mächtige Donaufluß wieder eine ausgleichende Wirkung ausübt.

Die Vegetation ist naturgemäß von diesen Temperatursprüngen geprägt, und gerade für den Weinbau stellen sie eine besonders positive Voraussetzung dar, denn die Weine beziehen ihre Fruchtigkeit und Bukettausbildung aus eben diesem klimatischen Spannungsverhältnis.

Das Kremstal ist ein nur kleines Weinbaugebiet, und dennoch findet man hier zwei verschiedene .

  • Das wellige Hochland und nach Osten abfallende Bergland der „Böhmischen Masse“ zählt zu den ältesten Formationen der Erde und besteht im Raum von Krems aus verschiedenen Gneisen, die mit ihren Verwitterungsformen die Urgesteinsböden der Terrassenlagen im Westen der Stadt bilden. Es sind dies exzellente Böden für den Rieslinganbau.

  • Von besonderer Bedeutung für den Weinbau in Krems sind jedoch die Lössböden, die aus den letzten Eiszeiten vor ca. 300.000 Jahren stammen und vorwiegend auf den Süd- und Südösthängen der Kremser Weinberge abgelagert sind. Sie bringen die besten Voraussetzungen für die bekannten Kremser Grünen Veltliner mit viel Würze und guter Struktur.