WEINGUT STADT KREMS

Stadtgraben 11

3500 Krems an der Donau

office@weingutstadtkrems.at

+43 2732 801 441

opening hours

monday to friday: 9am - 12am & 1pm - 5pm

saturday: 9am - 12am

tastings beyond the opening hours just on appointment

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

DATASECURITY I IMPRINT I TERMS & CONDITIONS

Exceptional soils provide the guarantee

for exceptional wines.

We enjoy telling the story of the Kremstal, but not only because our estate is based in Krems. If one takes a closer look at the Kremstal, its extraordinary geologic and climatic particulars become quite apparent.

 

From a geological point of view, the Kremstal describes an encounter between the Bohemian Massif to the northwest and the massive loess formations in the east of the region. The first of these is one of the oldest soil formations on the planet, composed of weathered primordial rock such as gneiss, schist & amphibolite. By comparison, the sandy loess drifted from the Alps into our region a mere 300,000 years ago. To the south, the Danube River draws a clear borderline.

The climatic influences are quite diverse as well. From the northwest, an Atlantic-Polar system keeps the grapes fresh with cool air currents from late summer into autumn. From the opposite direction, the Pannonian climate contributes warmer air, which helps the grapes achieve optimal maturity. The Danube River acts as a regulating and moderating influence on this convergence of atmospheric conditions.

We are proud to call four great vineyard sites our own: in the district of Stein we have vines in Schreck and Grillenparz, while in Krems itself there are Wachtberg and Weinzierlberg. Each vineyard has its own unique character – yielding distinctive wines year after year.

 

 

From left to right you can see our single vineyard sites Ried Grillenparz, Ried Schreck, Ried Wachtberg and Ried Weinzierlberg. Click on them to learn more about our various soils and vineyards!

WEINGUT STADT KREMS

Stadtgraben 11

3500 Krems an der Donau

office@weingutstadtkrems.at

+43 2732 801 441

 

 

Öffnungszeiten

AM 15.11.2019 GESCHLOSSEN!!

Montag bis Freitag 09:00-12:00 und 13:00-17:00 Uhr
Samstag 9:00-12:00 Uhr

Verkostung ausserhalb dieser Zeiten auf Vereinbarung

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Besonderer Boden
für besondere Weine.

Nicht, weil unser Weingut in Krems situiert ist, erzählen wir gerne von einem einzigartigen Ort. Betrachtet man das Kremstal näher, fallen einem verschiedene geologische und klimatische Besonderheiten auf.

 

Rein geologisch gesehen, ist das Kremstal eine Begegnung der aus dem Nord-Westen auslaufenden Böhmische Masse und den gigantischen Lössformationen im Osten der Region. Erstere ist eine der ältesten Bodenformationen unseres Planeten und setzt sich aus Verwitterungsgesteinen zusammen. Wohingegen der sandige Löss „erst“ vor 300.000 Jahren angeweht wurde. Südlich zieht die Donau eine klare Grenze.

Auch das Klima hat hier vielfältige Einflüsse. Aus dem Nord-Westen spendet das atlantisch-polare Klima kühle Luftmassen welche im Spätsommer und Herbst die frische in unseren Trauben erhalten. Aus der entgegengesetzten Richtung bringt das pannonische Klima warme Luft zur optimalen Reifung. Die Donau reguliert diese beiden Luftströme.

Wir dürfen vier besondere Rieden unser Eigen nennen:

In Stein die Rieden Schreck und Grillenparz und in Krems die Rieden Wachtberg und Weinzierlberg. Jede Lage besitzt ihren eigenen Charakter und es entstehen Jahr für Jahr einzigartige Weine.

Von links nach rechts sehen Sie die Riede Grillenparz, die Riede Schreck, die Riede Wachtberg und die Riede Weinzierlberg. Klicken Sie auf die einzelnen Rieden und erfahren Sie mehr darüber!